SSEP Prizes

Bürgi Prize (CHF 2'000): open for applications!

The Bürgi Prize rewards the best original publication addressing a problem in the fields of Experimental or Clinical Pharmacology every other year. Application for the Bürgi Prize 2020 is open from now on until February 28, 2021. Information on the application procedure and the conditions can be found here.

SSEP Poster Prize at LS2 meeting 2020 to Paulina Nowak

At the LS2 meeting that took place on February 13-14, 2020 in Zurich, Paulina Nowak (laboratory of Prof. R.J. Loewith, Dept. Molecular Biology, University of Geneva) received a Prize for the best poster, given by the Swiss Society of Experimental Pharmacology (SSEP) for her poster entitled “Interaction between plasma membrane tension and mTOR complex 2: Lessons learned from drugging membranes". Congratulations!

The photo below shows the winner, Paulina Nowak, together with Stephan Kellenberger, SSEP secretary, at the prize ceremony in Zurich.

SSEP poster prize at LS2 meeting 2020
SSEP poster prize at LS2 meeting 2020Bild: Matteo Cogliati,

NIBR Prize of the SSPT Spring Meeting 2019 awarded to Bisera Stepanovska and Darko Stojkov

At the SSPT spring meeting that took place on April 11, 2019 in Bern, the NIBR prize, donated by the Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research was given to two young researchers:

Best poster presentation:

A regulatory role of S1P lyase in brain endothelial cell barrier function by

Bisera Stepanovska1, Britta Engelhardt2, Andrea Huwiler1. 1 Institute of Pharmacology, University of Bern, Inselspital INO‐F, 3010 Bern; 2 Theodor Kocher Institute, University of Bern, Freiestrasse 1, 3012 Bern.

Best ‘Young Society Member’ oral presentation:

A requirement for the large‐conductance calcium‐activated potassium (BKCa) channel for NET formation by

Darko Stojkov1, Kevin Oberson1, Charaf Benarafa2, Peter Ruth3, Shida Yousefi1 and Hans‐Uwe Simon1. 1 Institute of Pharmacology, University of Bern, 3010 Bern; 2 Institute of Virology and Immunology, Department of Infectious Diseases and Pathobiology, Vetsuisse Faculty, University of Bern, Bern; 3 Institute of Pharmacy, Department of pharmacology, toxicology and clinical pharmacy, University of Tübingen, Tübingen, Germany.

The NIBR prize honors young scientists for outstanding contributions in the field of pharmacology. For further information, please contact PD Dr. Weitz-Schmidt, Past-President of the SSEP.

Bürgi Prize; this prize honors a young scientist for an excellent PhD thesis work with pharmacological content. The prize is donated by the Institute of Pharmacology, University of Bern. For further information, please contact Prof. Simon.

Bürgi Prize 2018 winner: Dr. Mario Acuña , University of Zurich, for his dissertation "Positive Allosteric Modulation of Inhibitory Neurotransmitter Receptors - Novel Mechanisms and Targets to Restore Spinal Inhibition in Persistent Pain".

Congratulations to the winners !